Summer Comfort Food • Stationery Designer

It’s Friday, and I’m in an honest mood. I love my craft and I love what computers give designers the ability to do, but sometimes I crave screen-less creativity. Often times, that is reflected in my work: collage, sewing, etc.

Other times, I need to leave design behind completely. This mood strikes fast and is usually accompanied by pangs of hunger. At this point, I’m usually halfway to our tiny kitchen….Gimme a biscuit, a scone, a danish, a cupcake, a pastry….baking is probably not the best solution to a protein-deficient freak-out, but definitely a delicious one.

A few days ago, armed with TONS of fresh picked blueberries from this awesome place, I decided to pull out my mom’s blueberry muffin recipe. Mama Mary has made these muffins my entire life and while not the big, fat, bakery ones, these are my absolute favorite. She graciously allowed me to share the recipe with you- just in case you, too, are sick of your screen and in need of some breakfast! (Or lunch…or whatever.)

Mama Mary’s BlueBerry Muffins

Ingredients:
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking soda powder (thanks for the catch, mom!)
1/4 tsp. salt
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup blueberries, frozen

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin in with paper liners.
2. Mix dry ingredients.
3. Mix wet ingredients.
4. Blend gently until moist all the way through.
5. Pour batter into lined tin, approx. 3/4 full
6. Bake for approx. 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Eat them, or, take them on a little photo shoot with your Retro Cam app like I did!

 

This entry was posted in food, photography, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

