Spaces and Inspiration

Hi peeps!

I know it seems like I’ve been neglecting the ol’ blog here for a bit and frankly, after mama time and client responsibilities, these days, all of my extra energy is going into designing my collection. (As evidenced by the piles of laundry in my house right now.) So I’m admitting to you guys, blogging hasn’t been my tip top priority. I’m realizing, however, that blogging does create a sense of accountability. I also think it’s important to show snippets of my process. It has always helped me to see what others do to transcend creativity and actually FINISH projects. So perhaps this is an exercise in telling myself “You can DO this! Go go go! (You have to, remember? You told everyone you were going to.” (Oh, right.) So, today, I wanted to give you a peek into a corner of my little design world.

My office, like everything else, is a work in progress. (While I could show you the whole thing, you probably don’t want to see the stacks of boxes, magazines, old work, tissue paper, etc. that is taking over everything beyond the lens’ reach.) I just REALLY needed one clean (ish) surface to be able to leave and come back to quickly.

Image

I LOVE my tall bistro table (desk) from Ikea. Something about sitting up higher, I dunno. It just works for me and my doodling and designing. I must point out my awesome graduated wire basket from my friend Barb. She has the coolest stuff in her shop and it makes me happy to have this little guy help keep all of my pens, markers, rulers, and tape in one place.

Image

I had high hopes of making my wall one GIANT bulletin board. I’m sure there’s a way to do it (and if you know how, please leave a comment below!) but I realized I could spend weeks figuring out how to make one ORRRRR I could just tape everything right to the wall and call it a day. So I did. I’ve had some of these pages for years and have always waited for how to use them. I’m so excited that they are FINALLY starting to make sense in my mind and it’s so cool to see how they are all working together.

Image

Quite possibly my favorite inspiration pieces are my great Grandmother Ledford’s vintage greeting cards. They are SO beautiful and happy. My Grandmother (the real Miss Wyolene)  loaned me a box of all of her mother’s greeting cards. I picked three out just to keep in front of me always. This heritage of writing cards and encouraging friends goes back a long way. I hope I can honor that with my work.

Alright, back to it! Happy Thursday!

Love,

misswyolene_smallstamp-yellow

This entry was posted in invitations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Spaces and Inspiration

  1. Sarah says:

    Re: Bulletin Board Wall… you could use magnetic paint primer on the wall. Rustoleum has some and you can paint it under any paint/color for a magnetic surface! 🙂

Leave a comment